Shit happens

I’m laughing me arse off today. I’d have done that yesterday, but I wasn’t around for the big reveal. Leoni was hacked, they say. About 34 million quid vanished, they say. Jesus, Mary and Joseph, the fresh prince of Niger must’ve reached with the finger gnawing to his wrists, green with envy. If all he had to do was to telnet to mail server to smtp port and add ehlo, rcpt and easy peasy (that was back in my day, now… must be some better tech, innit?) to get the manager to wire away 34 million quid, well… However, the best choices aren’t about hacking because it’s as sure as the upcoming Deadpool sequel that wasn’t hacking – hell, there’s only 2 possible scenarios: either they faked it for the insurance / fraud combo or they had an inside job. I lean towards the combo. Want more? Apparently it was usual practice for their managers to email (Jesus, I can’t stop laughing) demanding money transfers and the perpetrators knew exactly who and how to ask for it. Even worse, the bank (I assume there was a bank involved) didn’t ask for an invoice as per every bloody overseas transfer involving unknown accounts. And that’s of particular interest (or should be, anyway, for anybody with more than 2 working neurons) since the country they were operating from is Romania, where there are strict anti-money laundering regulations because they aren’t in the euro zone. I wonder if they pay their wages in monopoly money. Maybe they’ll wire me a couple million quid if I say pretty please. Sheesh, ’nuff said.

Well? Post a comment:

